Collegiate High School at NWFSC29th Season

Forensics Team a Finalist in Parliamentary Debate at Star Invitational

Forensics Team at Star Invitational

Northwest Florida State College's Forensics Team was a finalist in Parliamentary Debate at the 15th annual Star Invitational Nov. 13-15 in Jacksonville, highlighting an impressive showing against experienced large universities such as Florida State, the University of Florida, and Texas Southern University. This was the largest Star Invitational tournament in 15 years, with nine colleges and 11 universities from seven states participating.

NWF State College's Parliamentary Debate tandem of Taegan Dennis and Brockton Higgins competed against 18 other teams through four preliminary rounds and a semifinal round to vie for top team. They finished second in the very competitive final round.

Through the efforts of all of the team members, NWF State College came in third overall in Debate. Taegan Dennis distinguished herself by earning fourth place in Top Speaker awards.

For more information about the NWF State College Forensics Team and scholarship availability to team members, contact Forensics Coach Cecil Scalf at 897-2080 or

Shown in Photo

Standing L-R: Ryann Osborn (Niceville), Sebastian Dijkhuizen (Niceville), Brockton Higgins (Niceville), Hanah Chaudhry (Mary Esther), Ian Eberle (Crestview), Taegan Dennis (Fort Walton Beach). Kneeling L-R: Warren O'Neal (Fort Walton Beach), Sam Traver (Niceville).


Site Login