Collegiate High School at NWFSC29th Season

Graduates in Early Childhood Education honored


On May 2, Northwest Florida State College recognized students who successfully completed the college's program for the Bachelor of Science degree in Early Childhood Education and the Associate in Science degree in Early Childhood Education during the 2014-15 academic year.

The students who earned the BS degree represent the first such class in NWF State College history. The college established the bachelor degree program in Early Childhood Education in 2013.

Two students representing the Class of 2015 were selected to address the class and guests at the May 2 Pinning Ceremony. Student speakers were Sabine Claybrook of Crestview and Laleta Fingall of Niceville.


Several students received awards. Claybrook, Fingall, and Angela Sternke Arreola of Mary Esther were recognized for being Early Childhood Education honor graduates. Claybrook also is the ECE Student of the Year. Marilyn Mason of Fort Walton Beach was recognized for winning the gold medal at the Florida Region 1 SkillsUSA competition.

Early Childhood Education graduates earning a Bachelor of Science degree are: Sabine Claybrook (Crestview), Dreama Finch (Chipley), Laleta Fingall (Niceville), Sarah Fuller (Valparaiso), Sarah Head (Bonifay), Elizabeth Hoffman (Niceville), Marilyn Mason (Fort Walton Beach), Anthony McKinney Jr. (Fort Walton Beach), Vanessa Payne (Crestview), Deborah Smith (Mary Esther), Angela Sternke Arreola (Mary Esther), and Mercy Toth (Crestview).

Early Childhood Education graduates earning an Associate in Science degree are: Tawanda Brown (Crestview), Sage Cooke (Navarre), Jessica Edwards (Valparaiso), Jessica Givans (Freeport), Allison McKinney (Fort Walton Beach), Brittany Pearson (Niceville), and Amy Witte (Shalimar).

Here are a few facts about the first BS in ECE graduating class:

  • All 12 enrolled in the program in August 2013.
  • 8 were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society.
  • 4 were named to Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities for 2015.
  • 9 are parents and 5 are grandparents.
  • The age span from youngest to oldest is 38 years.
  • 10 were already working in an early childhood program when they enrolled in the bachelor degree program.
  • 3 are directors of early childhood programs.
  • 12 have the Florida Director Credential.

Top photo

BS in ECE class: Front row (L-R): Laleta Fingall, Mercy Toth, Angela Sternke Arreola, Vanessa Payne, Beth Hoffman, Debbie Smith. Back row (L-R): Sabine Claybrook, Sarah Fuller, Anthony McKinney, Dreama Finch, Marilyn Mason, Sarah Head.

Bottom photo

AS in ECE class: Front row (L-R): Tawanda Brown, Amy Witte, Jessica Edwards. Back row (L-R): Jessica Givans, Allison McKinney, and Director of Teacher Education Bev Sandlin. Not pictured: Sage Cooke, Brittany Pearson.


Site Login