Collegiate High School at NWFSC29th Season

Largest class graduates from Dental Assisting program

On Aug. 14, Northwest Florida State College recognized 20 students who successfully completed the college's vocational certificate program in Dental Assisting during the 2014-15 academic year. This graduating class was the largest in the program's history.

Caitlin Slater was given the Outstanding Dental Assisting Student Award for Academics and Hanna Gillette was given the Outstanding Dental Assisting Student Award for Clinical Rotations.

Program Director Julie Nelson congratulated the students on their accomplishments and encouraged them to continue their education as they go out to serve their communities as vital members of the dental profession. Nelson noted that three of the 20 students have already successfully completed their National Board exam. Graduates can work for a variety of dental offices, including general dentistry, oral surgery, orthodontic, endodontic, pedodontic and periodontic.

The Dental Assisting program is a competitive admission, three-semester program that provides students extensive clinical experiences. The program accepts 24 applicants to the limited access program each calendar year, with the program starting in August. For information, call 850-729-6444 or see the program’s website.

Dental Assisting graduates:

CRESTVIEW: Kristen Hoalt, Elya Lopez, Caitlin Slater, Kasey Watkins
DeFUNIAK SPRINGS: Shanon Frazier
EGLIN AFB: Maria Sumner
FORT WALTON BEACH: Keiasha Baldwin, Jessica Carrigg, Lauren Hollon, Hanna Gillette, Candace Lloyd
FREEPORT: Adrienne Graham
NAVARRE: Shauna Collert, Chelsea Holle, Kari Keeton, Destinee Sanders, Erin Viles
NICEVILLE: Emma Boone, Ciarra Bowers, Jessica Fowler

Dental Assisting graduates

Front row (L-R): Jessica Carrigg, Jessica Fowler, Shauna Collert, Kasey Watkins, Emma Boone, Keiasha Baldwin, Erin Viles, Maria Sumner. Back row (L-R): Ciarra Bowers, Kari Keeton, Lauren Hollon, Chelsea Holle, Hanna Gillette, Caitlin Slater, Candace Lloyd, Shanon Frazier, Adrienne Graham, Destinee Sanders, Elya Lopez, Kristen Hoalt.

Site Login