Collegiate High School at NWFSC29th Season

Four Collegiate High students named National Merit semifinalists

Collegiate High National Merit semifinalists9/16/2015

Four students at Collegiate High School at Northwest Florida State College have been named National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists. They are Thomas Anchor of Crestview, Ryen Goebel of Destin, Jonathan Ingram of Fort Walton Beach, and Nicholas Zimmerman of Niceville.

The four Collegiate High students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists – representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors – in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The semifinalists were identified based on their scores on the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of program entrants.

“These students are among an elite group of students nationwide who have attained this well-deserved recognition of their extraordinary academic accomplishments,” Collegiate High School Principal Anthony Boyer said. “It is such an honor to have these students be a part of Collegiate High School, and we are so proud of them.”

In addition to completing the requirements of both high school graduation and an associate of arts degree before they move on from Northwest Florida State College next spring, the four students are working toward solidifying their future education plans. Anchor and Ingram intend to study computer science, Zimmerman plans to pursue a degree in some type of engineering, and Goebel is considering a double major in some combination of architecture, engineering or biological engineering.

The four also will continue the process toward becoming National Merit Scholarship Program finalists, which involves submitting a detailed application with information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, leadership abilities, and honors and awards. They also must write an essay and earn a score on the SAT that confirms their earlier performance on the qualifying test. Finalists will be announced in February, and then the 2016 National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the pool of finalists starting in April.


L-R: Ryen Goebel, Thomas Anchor, Jonathan Ingram, Nicholas Zimmerman


Site Login